Decision about reorganisation of schools imminent

Published Sep 20, 2017

In two weeks, the President is expected to announce that KTH’s academic activities will be concentrated in five schools instead of the current ten. This will create clearer points of entry to KTH as a place of learning and better conditions for the continued development of a strong educational environment, explains President Sigbritt Karlsson.

On 15 September, the final reports were submitted on the six schools that it is proposed will be merged to form two major schools. In addition, it is proposed that the School of Education and Communication in Engineering Science (ECE) will no longer be a separate school.

Overall, the organisational changes mean that KTH’s activities will be concentrated in five major schools. This will help strengthen KTH as a place of learning, says Sigbritt Karlsson.

“The schools need to achieve a certain critical mass. This is important in terms of allowing us to increase quality and continuously develop our courses of education, to cater for the needs of both the students and society as a whole.”

The reorganisation means that CSC, EES and ICT, the Schools of Computer Science and Communication, Electrical Engineering, and Information and Communication Technology, will be integrated into one school.

“This will ensure there is a clear point of entry to the ICT area. This will clarify the image of KTH, both for applicants for courses of education and in terms of contact with the world of business and society in general,” says Sigbritt Karlsson.

The other new school will be formed as a result of the merging of the current School of Biotechnology (BIO), School of Chemical Science and Engineering (CHE) and School of Technology and Health (STH).

In the case of the School of Education and Communication in Engineering Science, a working group has analysed various options for the possible future organisation. The option suggested by the working group involves dividing up the school’s activities.

Sigbritt Karlsson is expecting to be able to announce the organisational changes within two weeks.

For the schools in the ICT area, as well as the Biotechnology, Chemical Science, and Technology and Health Schools, the new organisation will come into force on 1 January, 2018.

For both the newly formed schools, the first year will constitute a transitional period with, for example, the departmental structure remaining relatively unchanged. The current system for distributing resources will continue to apply in 2018.

The organisational plans for the activities in the current ECE school have not yet come as far. The implementation there may therefore come slightly later, according to Sigbritt Karlsson.

The final reports, including the report from the Faculty Council working group regarding certain key functions (GA, FA, PA) at the schools, can be found here.

Text: Ursula Stigzelius

Top page top